Medical Marijuana in Rhode Island
Passed by voters in 2006 and put into instant effect, the Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas C. Slater Medical Marijuana Act removes state-level criminal penalties on the use of medical marijuana.
Under Rhode Island’s medical marijuana law, patients may be recommended marijuana for the following conditions:
- Hepatitis C
- Any other chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition which produces for a specific patient one or more of the following, and for which, in the professional opinion of the patient’s physician, such condition may reasonably be relieved by the medical use of marijuana: Cachexia, Severe pain, Severe Nausea, Seizures or Muscle Spasms, Chemotherapy induced anorexia
How to Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Rhode Island
To apply for a Rhode Island medical marijuana card, you must meet the following criteria:
- You must be a resident of Rhode Island and show proof of residency
- You must obtain a copy of your medical records which show that you have been diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition
- You must receive a physician’s statement which suggests that you stand o benefit from the use of medical marijuana
You must submit a copy of your photo ID, your physician’s statement and the Registration for Medical Marijuana Program Application, along with a fee of $75 to:
Department of Health – Medical Marijuana Program
Office of Health Professionals Regulation, Room 104
3 Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5097
The renewal application should be mailed to you by the Rhode Island DOH 60 days prior to your current card’s expiration.