Medical Marijuana in Arkansas
Medical marijuana was legalized in Arkansas when 53% of voters approved Issue 6 at the ballot on November 8th 2016. The law permits patients who possess a doctor’s recommendation to obtain and use medical marijuana for any of a long list of qualifying conditions.
Registered patients are permitted to purchase up to a maximum of 2.5 ounces every 14-day period. Patients are not permitted to cultivate cannabis at home, and must instead purchase it from state-licensed dispensaries.
There are various other rules governing the forms of marijuana that can be used and sold. Patients under the age of 21 are not allowed to consume herbal cannabis, adults are not permitted to inhale herbal cannabis in the presence of children under 14 or pregnant women, and dispensaries are not permitted to sell edible or drink products containing more than 10mg of THC.
Medical marijuana can be recommended for any of the following medical conditions:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Chronic or debilitating disease
- Crohn’s disease
- Hepatitis C
- Intractable pain
- Multiple sclerosis
- Peripheral neuropathy
- Severe arthritis
- Severe nausea
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Ulcerative colitis
- Any medical condition or its treatment approved by the Department of Health
How To Apply For A Medical Marijuana Card In Arkansas
All patients must meet the following criteria in order to legally obtain medical marijuana:
- You must be at least 18 years of age, or a minor with parental consent.
- You must have been diagnosed with one of the listed qualifying medical conditions.
- You must possess the official written certification from your physician.
- You must be a resident of Arkansas with proof of residency, which can include an AR Driver’s License or an AR State ID card.
- You must not be a member of the Arkansas National Guard and United States Military.
To apply to be a patient, make sure you have the required paperwork and identification and start the application process on the Arkansas Department of Health website. Patients and caregivers are both required to pay a non-refundable $50 fee. Caregivers are also required to undergo a criminal history check at an additional cost of $37.
If you want to submit your application by mail, please send it to:
Arkansas Department of Health
Medical Marijuana Section
4815 West Markham Slot 50
Little Rock, AR 72205
Your medical marijuana registry ID card is valid for one year from the date of issue or the duration designated by the physician. Renewing your card requires a payment of $50.
Where You Can Buy It
Medical marijuana can be purchased from state-licensed dispensaries across Arkansas. The law permits the licensing of up to 32 dispensaries and up to five cultivators.