Maine Medical Marijuana Program
Medical marijuana has been legal in Maine since voters passed a measure in 1999. Residents of Maine with a medical marijuana card are legally permitted to possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana, and to cultivate up to a maximum of six mature cannabis plants at home.
Under Maine’s medical marijuana law, patients may be recommended marijuana for the following conditions:
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Chronic pain
- Crohn’s disease
- Hepatitis C
- HIV or AIDS
- Huntington’s disease
- Inflammatory bowel disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Nail-patella syndrome
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Any condition as recommended by a physician
How to Apply For a Medical Marijuana Card in Maine
To apply for a medical marijuana card in Maine, you must meet the following criteria:
- You must be a resident of Maine with a valid Maine ID or equivalent identification.
- You must obtain your medical records, which prove that you have a qualifying medical condition
- You must receive a written recommendation from your physician that states you may benefit from the use of marijuana for medical purposes.
- You must register with the Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Program
In Maine, unlike in other place where medical marijuana cards are issued by the state, physicians are solely responsible for evaluating you and issuing your card, which can sometimes happen within hours of your initial consultation, which generally costs $250-$300. If the doctor agrees that you have a qualifying medical condition, they will create an account for you using the Maine Medical Marijuana Certifications online service.
Renewal Requirements For Medical Marijuana Patients in Maine
Your Maine medical marijuana card will last for one year from the date of issue. In order to apply for a new card, you should get in touch with your physician’s office at least 30 days prior to the expiration of your current card. You will then need to meet with your physician again for them to confirm that you still qualify for the medicinal use of marijuana. The physician will be required to pay a $10 admin fee, and you will likely have to pay another doctor’s consultation fee of around $250-$300.
Maine’s reciprocity law allows patients from other states to access medical marijuana. A “”visiting qualifying patient from another jurisdiction that authorizes the medical use of marijuana … who possesses … a valid medical marijuana certification from that other jurisdiction and photographic identification … may engage in conduct authorized for a qualifying patient.”
The following states have permitted qualifying medical patients to access medical marijuana while visiting Maine: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington, and Washington, DC. More information can be found here.