Medical Marijuana in Oregon
In 1998 voters passed “The Oregon Medical Marijuana Program,” also known as Measure 67, with 55% of the vote. Under the law, patients can carry up to 24 ounces of cannabis and grow up to 6 plants.
Under Oregon’s medical marijuana law, patients may be recommended marijuana for the following conditions:
- Any other chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition which produces for a specific patient one or more of the following, and for which, in the professional opinion of the patient’s physician, such condition may reasonably be relieved by the medical use of marijuana: Cachexia, Severe pain, Severe Nausea, Seizures or Muscle Spasms, orChemotherapy induced anorexia
How to Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Oregon
To apply for a medical marijuana card in Oregon, you must meet the following criteria:
- You must be a US citizen. You do not need to be an Oregon resident.
- You must obtain a copy of your medical records indicating a diagnosis of a qualifying medical condition
- You must obtain written documentation from your doctor that suggests you may benefit from the medical use of marijuana
To apply for a patient card in Oregon, you need to complete and sign an OMMP Application Form and pay a fee of up to $200. Along with the application, you must also submit a copy of your ID, and a signed physician’s statement. You can submit the above to:
PO BOX 14450
Portland, OR 97293-0450
Patients in the state of Oregon must annually renew with a $200 fee, proof that the qualifying medical condition has continued, proof of residency and a renewal form.