New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program
In 2011, Republican Governor Chris Christie signed a bill into law that allows for patients of severe chronic illnesses to be issued medical marijuana cards. The law is known as the New Jersey Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act.
Requirements For a Medical Marijuana Card in New Jersey:
To apply for a medical marijuana card in New Jersey, you must meet the following criteria:
- You must be a resident of New Jersey
- You must obtain a written recommendation from your doctor stating that you stand to benefit from the use of medical marijuana for a qualifying medical condition
- You must obtain your medical records, which show proof of diagnosis of a qualifying medical condition
Under New Jersey’s medical marijuana law, patients may be recommended marijuana for the following conditions:
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Muscular Dystrophy
- Inflammatory Bowel Disease
- Terminal Illness
How to Apply For a Medical Marijuana Card in New Jersey:
In New Jersey, you need your physician to approve you for medical marijuana and assign you a Patient Reference Number. Then go to New Jersey Medical Marijuana Program and register online. There is a $200 fee, although those who qualify for government assistance only have to pay $20.
Renewal Requirements For Medical Marijuana Patients in New Jersey:
Patients in the state of New Jersey must annually renew medical marijuana recommendations, and then resubmit paperwork to get a patient card.