Medical Marijuana in Florida
In November 2016, 71.3 percent of voters in Florida approved a constitutional amendment to broaden legalization of medical marijuana and expand the list of qualifying conditions.
Under the current law, patients with a physician’s recommendation can obtain medical marijuana from state-licensed dispensaries. Physicians may issue certification for up to three 70-day supply limits of cannabis, and dispensaries can only provide one 70-day supply at a time.
Physicians can recommend no more that 2.5 ounces of smokable cannabis flower every 35 days. Patients under the age of 18 may only smoke medical marijuana if they are terminally ill, and if they have obtained a second opinion from a pediatrician.
Home cultivation is not permitted.
Medical marijuana can be recommended for any of the following medical conditions:
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn’s disease
- Chronic nonmalignant pain*
- Multiple sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Terminal illness (patients diagnosed with no more than 12-months to live)
- Other debilitating medical conditions comparable to those enumerated
*Defined as “pain that is either caused by or originates from a qualifying medical condition”
How to Apply For a Medical Marijuana Card in Florida
To obtain medical marijuana in Florida, a patient must be diagnosed with a qualifying condition, be a permanent or seasonal Florida resident, and possess a Medical Marijuana Use Registry Identification Card.
Once a patient is diagnosed with a qualifying condition, their physician enters the patient’s information into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry. The patient’s caregiver (if applicable) must also be added in the registry. Then, the patient must apply for a Medical Marijuana Use Registry Identification Card either online or by post.
To apply online, the patient must:
- Log in to the Medical Marijuana Use Registry website with the credentials sent to the email address provided to the patient’s physician
- Complete an online application form in the “Your Card” page in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry
- Supply all the required documentation, as well as payment details for the $75 processing fee
To apply by mail:
- Print a patient or caregiver application form
- Indicate whether it is an initial, renewal, or minor application
- Complete all required fields and include:
- An approved passport-type photo
- A copy of the required proof of residency
- $75 check or money order made out to the Florida Department of Health
- Mail the application to:
Office of Medical Marijuana Use
PO Box 31313
Tampa, FL 33631-3313
Patients in Florida must renew their Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification cards annually. A renewal application must be submitted to the department no later than 45 days prior to the card’s expiry date, along with the application fee and the required documentation. Patients and caregivers can do so either online or by mail.
Where You Can Buy It
There are 134 state-licensed dispensaries in Florida
The list of dispensaries is available here.