Medical marijuana was legalized in Oklahoma when Ballot Question 788 was approved by 56.84 percent of voters on June 26, 2018.

The Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) is responsible for establishing regulations for the implementation of the state’s medical marijuana program.

The law permits authorized patients and their designated caregivers to purchase medical marijuana from a state-licensed medical cannabis dispensary.

Home cultivation of cannabis is permitted for up to six mature plants and up to six seedling plants.

Aside from home cultivation, those possessing a state-issued license may possess the following: up to eight ounces of marijuana in their residence; up to one ounce of concentrated marijuana; up to 72 ounces of edible marijuana; and up to three ounces of marijuana on their person in public.

Possession of up to 1.5 ounces of herbal marijuana without a valid registry ID is considered a misdemeanor offense liable for a fine of up to $400.

Delivery services for medical marijuana are not currently permitted by the OSDH.

Qualifying Conditions

The decision to recommend cannabis therapy is solely at the discretion of the treating physician.

According to the law, “A medical marijuana license must be recommended according to the accepted standards a reasonable and prudent physician would follow when recommending or approving any medication.”

How to Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Oklahoma

All applications are processed through Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) website.

The following are the requirements for patients and caregivers:

Patients

  1. Digital copy of proof of Oklahoma residency
  2. Digital copy of proof of identity
  3. A clear, color, full-face digital photograph valid for use in U.S. passports
  4. Adult Patient Physician Recommendation Form, dated within 30 days of application submission
  5. If applicable, proof of Medicaid or Medicare enrollment
  6. Application fee of $100, or $20 for Medicaid and Medicare enrollees

Caregivers

  1. Digital copy of proof of Oklahoma residency
  2. Digital copy of proof of identity
  3. A clear, color, full-face digital photograph valid for use in U.S. passports
  4. Submitted appropriate Patient Caregiver Designation Form signed by the patient

Medical marijuana patients from outside of Oklahoma may also apply for a 30-day temporary license at a cost of $100.

Renewal Requirements

Adult patient registry ID cards are valid for two years from the date of issue. For a minor, it is either two years, or until they turn 18 years of age, whichever comes first.

Where You Can Buy It

Medical marijuana can be purchased from state-licensed dispensaries across Oklahoma. A comprehensive list can be found here.